Some photos from the Day in the Park

This weekend, the village parish council organised a community day in a nearby park for local residents to come and have fun. The local Churches Together had a stall which I helped with.

Their idea was to have children’s craft activities, a cake and drinks stall (with the refreshments being free), and some information about the local churches. Most of the other stall were from local groups or charities offering tombolas and cake stalls, with a few funfair rides bought in from outside. Although not strictly in my patch, and in fact in a different parish council to my development, I went along mainly to find out more about this event – I had heard that 5000 people had been through last year and it is held on a park a short walk from our development. Despite that it was very poorly advertised within our council boundary.

I contributed two coffee tables with board games – Connect 4 and Chess – with the invitation to challenge the vicar. My thinking was that over the game I would get chatting with my opponent. To a certain extent it worked with several teenage boys coming back a few times to challenge me at chess, which I am not very good at (my record – won 3, drew 1, littered with mistakes). Maybe this is an approach to use at events that are more local to me.

Sadly the weather was windy and changeable, ranging from very heavy showers to quite nice sun.

Rain brews over the stalls:

People from our stall take shelter:

My wife and son, who has borrowed a hat from the local PCSO.

This entry was posted in community and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

